You are here:


This Web Portal is designed according to the Federal Government's Digital Identity, which meets the key accessibility recommendations for the web, such as those of the WCAG (World Content Accessibility Guide), the W3C (World Wide Web Consortium) and the e-MAG (Electronic Government Accessibility Model). Created by the Brazilian Government, the e-MAG follows international recommendations and establishes accessibility standards to governmental websites.

As in other portals of the Brazilian Government, the accessibility bar is located on the top area of the Itamaraty Portal webpage and presents standardized navigation shortcuts and options to change the screen contrast. These tools are available on all pages of the Portal.

The standard shortcuts of the Federal Government are:

Alt+1: directs to the beginning of the main page content.
Alt+2: directs to the beginning of the main menu.
Alt+4: directs to the internal search engine.

When using Mozilla Firefox, instead of Alt + number, press Alt + Shift + number simultaneously. For Firefox in Mac OS, instead of Alt + Shift + number, press Ctrl + Alt + number simultaneously. At Opera, the keys are Shift + Escape + number. When pressing only Shift + Escape, the user will find a window with all the ACCESSKEY alternatives of the page.

Legislation on accessibility:

Decree no. 5.296, of December 2, 2004
Decree no. 6.949, of August 25, 2009, which enacts the International Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and its Optional Protocol, signed in New York, on March 30, 2007.
Decree no. 7.724, of May 16, 2012, which regulates Law 12.527, which provides for access to information.
Ordinance no. 03, of May 7, 2007, which institutionalizes the Electronic Government Accessibility Model (e-MAG).